Ethernet Driver failed on OSol for Broadcom BCM4401-B0 device

I have had this problem in setting up my Broadcom BCM4401-B0 on the Dell XPS Laptop.

‘make install’ and then ./adddrv.sh runs fine on the bfe-2.3.0a driver, but when I run ‘devfsadm -i bfe’, I get

devfsadm:driver failed to attach: bfe

Further ‘ifconfig bfe0 plumb’ returns

bfe0: No such file or directory

I am running the i386 version, and make install only seems to be installing /kernel/drv/bfe. I have nothing like a /kernel/drv/i386 (in reference to /kernel/drv/amd64 as per this ML archive).

One response to “Ethernet Driver failed on OSol for Broadcom BCM4401-B0 device

  1. It seems this is no longer relevant. I recently tried the build_78 of OpenSolaris, and everything just worked on first install! Even the Live DVD is awesome! I had the network *and sound!!* working right away!

Leave a Reply

